#ThisIsWhyWeNeedPolytheism, X

Posted: August 29, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

From Markos Gage of Pan Fine Art:

For those that don’t know, I make a living producing artwork on the street. I don’t get paid by anyone. What I do it is completely FREE to the public other than what they want to give through donation.

I’ve been awarded a number of titles as being the best busker in Melbourne, I’ve been featured in newspapers, books, radio, international TV as a representative of the culture of the city.

I am a polytheist and consider this work to be devotional, that said, I don’t preach it.

Over the many years of doing this I’ve been attacked by people because my artwork is overtly pagan. I’ve had people try to destroy my artwork, deface it by stealing my own pastels and drawing on it.

They spit on it, urinate on it, and there has been threats of physical violence. I’ve been reported to the city council and police for making indecent artwork – the council brought lawyers into the mix too. (They all gave up. As I am doing nothing wrong.)

Just last week I had a regular preacher setup next to me, telling everyone around me that my art is offence to God and should be destroyed. He labels me a satanist and many other nasty things.

This happens weekly.

I really shouldn’t be surprised, but I am just making art in public for free.

 

#ThisIsWhyWeNeedPolytheism

Leave a Reply

