Sabazios Lives!

Posted: March 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

Hail! Sabazios! Hail! the Serpent-Soldier, who slays Himself! Hail! to the god of the space between all things!

My god Sabazios has been getting all kinds of awesome press this week, and has been present in not a few people’s lives in big and transformative ways recently, in many of His myriad forms.

PSVL shares with us a poetic praise piece:

Serpent Sabazios

Upon his horse, he defeats serpents,
horned and hooded, vipers and pythons,
but upon the earth and within it
he is the Serpent Itself.

He passes, golden, between the breasts
of the initiates, through their hearts,
and emerges below, whether male or female
or neither, from the region of their sexes.

The burrows through the earth he makes
are the trackways to Hades and Tartaros;
the ways he clears through our hearts
are devotion and virtue and good speech.

Thracians have known this for centuries;
Bithynians and Phrygians as well,
Karians and Lykians and far-off Scythians,
Keltoi and Galatians, and even the Greeks.

Through Meroe of Nubia and Egypt,
the Samothracian isles, and ancient Canaan,
through the marbled streets of Rome
and the forests of Gaul and Germania.

From the pristine landscapes of Hyperborea
to the titan-haunted halls of Olympus
the fame of Sabazios as serpent
is older than Chronos and Kairos.

His flitting tongue upon ears
is the beginnings of prophecy;
his venom in the veins
is intoxication and madness;

his coiling around the finger
is mastery of spear and sword;
his trampling underfoot
is the beginning of liberation.

(But is it the hero who tramples him
or is it he who tramples himself?
Only the eyes of a shadow can see it,
can know it with certainty.)

Through the breasts of gods, even,
he has wound his serpentine way…
therefore, for him this day
may offerings and praise be gathered!

 

And over at the Cave of Night we have a piece linking to the above, and praising the God Who Rides in some of his other forms, through Thracian to Samothracian to Phrygian to Egyptian expressions of divine being.

Very soon I will be making some updates to the website that I put up for Him, Sanctus Σαβάζιος, but in the meantime I look fondly on the wooden St. George curio cabinet hanging to the side of this room in my new home, smiling at the image, knowing that it is none other than He who resides within it.

 

Hail! Sabazios!

Comments
  1. Hurrah for the added attention to the Great God Sabazios! I’m glad you liked the poem, and I hope he does, too! 😉

    [To an extent, in my own practice, Sabazios has become the equivalent of Agni for Hindus/ancient Vedic practitioners, or possibly even Legba for Vodouisants…I don’t know if that jives with your own experiences of him, but I think it is one role he can play, and has played for me, since the Sabazios tile I made for him is the offering tray which conveys all offerings placed upon it to whichever gods are concerned, though he gets a share himself that way, too–especially when my local Thracian/Sabazian student is the one handling the tile!]

    • We’ve discussed Sabazios in this context and I certainly know Him in this context as well. Would you like to say more about this here, in terms of what the practices you use are, and how it works ritually? With permission I’ll quote your comments in an article of my own expanding on His role in my lineage’s rites and so forth!

      • Insofar as the following may be useful to you (or not–and if so, that’s also fine!):

        The way I tend to do food offerings is I place them on a special offering tray (or in a bowl for that purpose, etc.), and I circulate them in front of the shrine (temporary or permanent as is the place and occasion) in the manner that I learned when doing aarti in HIndu contexts, and I usually formally dedicate them to whatever deities are the beneficiaries on that occasion, always mentioning Sabazios among them. (My usual kind of “litany” of regular offerings I do goes in roughly this order: Antinous; Hadrian and Sabina; Polydeukion, Memnon, Achilles, and their family; Lucius Marius Vitalis; the Tetrad++; Sabazios; Glykon; others as necessary/as the occasion calls for it.) I have offering tiles for Antinous, Hadrian, Sabina, the three Trophimoi, and then three that are for the different aspects of Antinous, and the Sabazios tile (which is the largest), but the one that seems to get the most usage is the Sabazios one–whether this is because it is the largest, or the most conveniently located, or what is not clear to me, but these days (and for the last year or so), doing an offering without including him in it doesn’t quite seem “right” to me. As the tile itself depicts a stylized Sabazios hand, and it is thus as if I’m putting my offerings into his hand, and from his hand it then goes to the other deities, it makes a lot of sense that way. On more special and specific occasions, perhaps, doing the offerings on the tiles that are for specific deities would make more sense; and yet, in my practices these days, it seems that Sabazios can always play that role, and may even enjoy doing so, and thus I’d like to include him in that capacity whenever possible. As I don’t have a great or direct relationship with him outside of this (other than offering him some poems, having great respect for him, and having felt a fascination and draw toward him for many years since I saw the first Sabazios hand I encountered in the British Museum, and his part as a parent/grandparent of the Tetrad++), and he doesn’t “talk to me” or hasn’t appreciably contacted me outside of the dream in which I saw how to make the Sabazios tile, I can’t really say for certain what his own feelings toward me are, but since I am a dyed-in-the-wool polytheist and I like to get as many deities involved in what I do as possible, and this is something that he is good at and seems to enjoy, it’s an honor to have him included in my rituals in this fashion.

  2. […] Anomalous Thracian was his charming, witty, and erudite self in spades and we tackled some really heavy topics, like how Tumblr is destroying society and whiskey. […]

Leave a Reply

